2019 Annual Meeting Highlights

The Society hosted 145 Orthopaedic Surgeon members, Guest Speakers, Physician Assistants, Yale and UConn Orthopaedic residents and Guests at the COS Annual Meeting held on May 10, 2019 in Farmington, CT.

Special thanks to Dr. Michael Kaplan, MD, Meeting Program Director, for his leadership, commitment and dedication to organizing a relevant and robust, CME accredited program for all members and guests.

The Society was honored to host great speakers, award recipients and orthopaedic resident presenters.  With over 35 companies and organizations, attendees had the opportunity to learn more about products and services for the orthopaedic community.  Special thanks to Dr. Frank Gerratana for creating a video highlight of the exhibitors and award recipients too. Click here to view the video.


New Officers Elected


The members of the Connecticut Orthopaedic Society elected new officers at the 2019 Annual Meeting held at the Marriott Hotel in Farmington, Connecticut on May 10, 2019.  Elected to serve as President is Michael Aronow, MD;  Tarik Kardestuncer, MD , will serve the Society as Vice President and Dante Brittis, MD, will be the Secretary/Treasurer.  READ MORE.



Michael Kaplan, MD Honored as 2019 Orthopaedist of the Year


The Connecticut Orthopaedic Society is proud to honor Michael Kaplan, MD, with the Society’s 2019 Orthopaedist of the Year award.  The Orthopaedist of the Year award is the highest honor bestowed by the Society in recognition of distinguished service to the COS, contributions to patient care and commitment and dedication to the teaching of and practice of orthopaedics.. READ MORE.


Humanitarian Award Presented to Kristaps Keggi, MD 


The 2019 Humanitarian Service Award is awarded in recognition of the volunteer work and commitment by an orthopaedic surgeon member.   This award is to acknowledge the tireless efforts, outstanding commitment and sustained dedication in service to humanity. This year’s honoree was Kristaps Keggi, MD.  READ MORE.


COS Inducts Dr. David Emmel as an Honorary Member of the Society


The Connecticut Orthopaedic Society inducted David Emmel, M.D., as an Honorary Member of the Society at the Society’s Annual Meeting on May 10, 2019, in Farmington, CT.  He was inducted by Michael Saffir, MD, COS Ex Officio Associate Member who presented the award to him.  READ MORE.




COS Host Orthopaedic Residents from Yale and UConn

The Connecticut Orthopaedic Society hosted this year's Resident Presentations from both Yale and UConn. Joining the clinical presentation portion of the annual meeting, Yale Orthopaedic resident, Kenneth Milligan, MD (center-photo shown) and UConn Orthopaedic resident, Zacharay Kavanaugh, MD (right-photo shown), shared their recent research and findings and were recognized by Michael Aronow, MD, COS President (left - photo shown).  The Society is a proud supporter of resident education in our state and provides financial contributions to both programs through the Society’s charitable arm, the Foundation.